«Legal Notice This SC&RA Oversize/Overweight Permit Manual is intended only to provide concise, easily read information, useful in planning movements of ...»
No permitted travel is allowed within the corporate limits of cities/towns between the hours of 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. except for configurations that are overweight or overlength (not exceeding 85 feet, including rear overhang) only. No travel is allowed on Sundays, except for loads that are permitted for overweight or overlength (not exceeding 85 feet, including rear overhang) only. The Hauling Permit Section may modify the normal hours of travel or restrict times of travel if it is determined necessary giving primary consideration to the safety and well-being of the traveling public.
Holiday - Permitted vehicle configurations are allowed to travel on all holidays except the following state
(i) New Year's Day, (ii) Memorial Day, (iii) Independence Day, (iv) Labor Day, (v) Thanksgiving Day, and (vi) Christmas Day.
On the holidays mentioned above, permits will not be valid from noon the preceding weekday through the holiday. If the observed holiday falls on a Monday the permit will not be valid from noon on the preceding Friday through Monday.
Inclement Weather - When road conditions, visibility or unfavorable weather conditions make traveling hazardous to the operator or to the traveling public, permitted vehicles are not authorized to operate unless responding to an emergency. Law-enforcement judgment shall prevail in all circumstances.
PERMIT TYPESSingle Trip Permit Definition: One move between origin and destination Cost: $20
Overload Permit - An overload permit authorizes a 5% weight extension for:
Single axle weight limit of 20,000 pounds Tandem axle weight limit of 34,000 pounds, and Gross weight limit based on the axle spacing and number of axles of the vehicle.
In no case shall the permit allow a vehicle or combination of vehicles to exceed a gross weight of 84,000 pounds.
Overload permits are valid only on Virginia state roads. They are not valid on interstate highways.
VA-3 03/14 SC&RA Oversize/Overweight Permit Manual Vehicles issued an overload permit must have a gross weight greater than 7,500 pounds.
Overload permits can be issued to vehicles titled and registered in Virginia and to vehicles registered out of state.
Overload permits may be issued on an annual, multi-year, or quarterly basis.
Overload permits expire at the same time that the vehicle registration expires. Multi-year overload permits are not allowed for vehicles with a gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more. These vehicles must provide DMV with annual proof of payment of the Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT).
Overload permits for local, state or federal agencies are always issued for two years and no fees are charged.
The annual fee for a 5% Overload Permit is $250. Permits may be purchased at the time of registration or between registration renewal periods at a pro-rated fee.
Farm vehicles pay half the fee for overload permits.
In addition to the 5% overload permit issued by DMV, motor vehicles transporting Virginia-grown forest or farm products from the place of production, harvesting, cutting, or felling to a location where they are first
processed may receive an additional 5% extension on applicable weight limits. This additional extension:
Is applicable to Virginia state (non-federal) highways only Does not authorize a gross weight exceeding 84,000 pounds Does not authorize an extension of axle or gross weight limitations, regardless of axle spacing, on interstate highways.
Note: A mileage fee of ten cents per mile is added if overweight or if the vehicle configuration can not be licensed in Virginia. Mobile homes and Manufactured housing will pay a flat fee of $1.00 in lieu of the ten cents per mile fee.
Blanket Definition: Multiple moves over a specified period of time.
Cost: $100 for one year; $200 for two years Note: A mileage fee of $40 per year is added if overweight or if the vehicle configuration can not be licensed in Virginia (Mobile homes and Manufactured homes included).
VDOT Structure Exclusion Lists for Blanket Permits Please download the VDOT Structure Exclusion List that is referenced in your Virginia Blanket Hauling Permit.
MP227 N1R N2R N3R N4R N5R N6R N7R N8R N45T Superload The overall size and or weight of the vehicle configuration requires research and analysis.
Cost: $30 Note: A mileage fee of ten cents per mile is added if overweight or if the vehicle configuration can not be licensed in Virginia. A $4.00 per structure/bridge research fee is added. Interstate only moves count as one structure/bridge.
Exempt Permits Various types of permits are available to specific commodities or services.
FEES Single Trip — $20 for permit.plus $.10 per ton per mile.
Superload - $30 for permit. plus $.10 per ton per mile. $4.00 per bridge and structure when weight involved.
Blanket — $100 for 1 year permit fee (+ $40 mileage fee if weight involved); $200 for 2 year permit fee (+ $80 mileage fee if weight involved).
Building Movement Permits - $50.
Labeling — Red or fluorescent orange flags 18" or 24" square must be placed on all four corners and all extremities.
Signs must read either “wide load” or “oversize load” on all overdimensional vehicles, and must have black letters (8" high, 1.5" brush stroke) on a yellow background.
Overdimensional vehicles over 12' in width or 75' in length must have two amber flashing lights, one mounted on top of the vehicle and one mounted on the rear of the load. Escort vehicles must have amber flashing lights at all times visible for 500'.
Escort Vehicles and Personnel — No escort vehicles are required on divided highways. A front escort vehicle will be required for travel on all two-lane and three-lane highways. An additional rear escort vehicle shall be required to properly forewarn motorists where roadway alignment is not sufficient for adequate vision when motorists are approaching from the rear.
Vehicles over 12' in width traveling through the Big Walker Mountains tunnel on Interstate 77 must be accompanied by a rear escort. A lead escort is required for vehicles over 10' in width and 85' in length on two-lane roads. All other escort needs would be noted on the permit. All escorts of vehicles over 12' in width must be certified.
Certification – Effective on January 1, 2014, the Virginia General Assembly enacted a law requiring individuals wanting to perform the duties of an escort vehicle driver to complete an escort vehicle driver training course. Successful completion of this training course is required prior to taking an escort vehicle driver certification knowledge test at any Virginia DMV customer service center (CSC).
To qualify for Virginia escort vehicle driver certification, you must:
Be at least 21 years of age Hold a valid driver's license Successfully complete an 8-hour escort vehicle driver certification training course approved by Virginia DMV Certification as an escort vehicle driver is mandatory when escorting oversize loads. The authority for the Virginia “Certified Vehicle Escort Driver” is set in Virginia Administrative Code 24VAC30-111-150. The application can be obtained at www.dmv.state.va.us. The Virginia Escort Driver’s Manual can be downloaded from the same site. Successful completion of the Escort Driver’s Certification Test is required and administered through Virginia DMV’s Knowledge Automated Testing System at any Virginia DMV Customer Service Center. Certification is for a five year term. Virginia does not recognize any other state escort certifications; however, applicants residing outside Virginia can arrange to take the Virginia certification test in their state of residence.
To apply for Virginia escort vehicle driver certification, you must:
Submit a completed Escort Vehicle Driver Certification Application (HP 404) to any Virginia DMV CSC Pass an escort vehicle driver certification knowledge test with a score of 80% or higher Pay a $25.00 certification fee
Escort Driver Certification Fees:
Original Certification $25 Renewal $25 Reissue $15 Duplicate $15 Flagging – A certification card is required for any person flagging within VDOT.
FINES Truck Inspection Directory Choose the DMV district which corresponds to your location to find the cities within the district that have inspection stations.
VA-5 03/14 SC&RA Oversize/Overweight Permit Manual Bristol District Includes the counties of Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Dickenson, Floyd, Giles, Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, Pulaski, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise and Wythe and the cities of Bristol, Galax, Norton and Radford.
Roanoke District Includes the counties of Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Campbell, Charlotte, Craig, Franklin, Halifax, Henry, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Roanoke and Rockbridge and the cities of Bedford, Buena Vista, Clifton Forge, Covington, Danville, Lexington, Lynchburg, Martinsville, Roanoke and Salem.
Staunton District Includes the counties of Albemarle, Augusta, Clarke, Culpeper, Fauquier, Frederick, Greene, Highland, Madison, Nelson, Orange, Page, Rappahannock, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Warren and the cities of Charlottesville Fredericksburg, Harrisonburg, Staunton, Waynesboro, and Winchester.
Fairfax North District Includes thecounties of Arlington, Fairfax, and Prince William and the cities of Arlington, Fairfax, and Falls Church.
Fairfax South District Includes the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, and Prince William and the cities of Alexandria, Manassas Park, and Manassas.
Richmond District Includes the counties of Amelia, Brunswick, Buckingham, Caroline, Charles City, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fluvanna, Goochland, Greensville, Hanover, Henrico, King and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Powhatan, Prince George, Prince Edward, Richmond, Surry, Sussex and Westmoreland and the cities of Colonial Heights, Emporia, Hopewell, Petersburg and Richmond.
Portsmouth District Includes the counties of Accomack, Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, Mathews, Northampton, Southampton and York and the cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach and Williamsburg.
Overweight fines - Two cents per pound for each pound of excess weight over the prescribed limit in this article for an excess which does not exceed 5,000 pounds, five cents per pound for each pound of excess weight over the prescribed limit in this article when such excess is more than 5,000 pounds, two cents per pound for each pound of excess axle weight over the prescribed limit in any permit issued pursuant to Article 18 (46.2-1139 et seq) of this chapter when the excess is 5,000 pounds or less, five cents per pound for each pound of excess axle weight over the prescribed limit in any permit issued pursuant to Article 18 (46.2-1139 et seq) of this chapter when such excess is more than 5,000 pounds and ten cents per pound for each pound of excess gross weight over the prescribed limit in any permit issued pursuant to Article 18 (46.2-1139 et seq) of this chapter. However, whenever any vehicle does not exceed the gross weight permitted according to the table provided in 46.2-1139 and exceeds the axle weight in this article by 2,000 pounds or less, the liquidated damages shall be assessed in the amount of one cent per pound for each pound of excess weight over the prescribed axle limit in this article.
All gross permit violations shall be assessed 20 cents per pound over the permitted weight limit. In addition, the owner, operator, or other person responsible for the overweight violation will be charged a $25 civil penaly, a $20 processing fee, a $2 weighing fee, plus additional liquidated damages of $20.
RESTRICTED TRAVELGeneral — Except when traveling the interstate system, no travel is permitted within the corporate limits of cities/towns between the hours of 7:00–9:00 am and between 4:00–6:00 pm. No passing is allowed within the corporate limits of cities/towns except where traveling on the interstate.
City/County/Town Restrictions Alexandria — State permit not valid through city other than on I-395 and I-95. Contact city traffic director at (703) 838-4324 for permit to travel routes not listed.
Arlington County — State permit valid for travel on primary routes and interstate system. Contact county traffic division at (703) 228-3575 for permit to travel other roads.
Bluefield (vehicle loads in excess of 12' in width) — Permittee must notify the police department at (276) 326-2621 one hour prior to entering corporate limits.
Chesapeake — State permit not valid for travel through the city other than Routes 58, 460, Alt. 460, 13, Business 13, 104, 17 (between North Carolina line and intersection of Routes 17 and 104), and I-64, I-264, and I-464. Contact city traffic engineer at (757) 382-6300 for permit to travel routes not listed.
Clifton Forge — Travel restricted to the following routes: Route 220 (Verge Street) between the east corporate limits and the intersection with Route 60, then along Route 50 from the intersection of A and Main Streets to the east corporate limits, then to I-64.
Danville (vehicle/loads in excess of 12' in width) — Permittee must notify police department twenty-four hours prior to entering the corporate limits. Hours of travel 9:00 am to 3:00 pm.
Fairfax — State permit not valid within city limits. Contact city traffic engineer at (703) 385-7924 for permit.
Falls Church — Permittee must notify the police department at (703) 241-5050 one hour prior to entering corporate limits.
Farmville (vehicle/loads in excess of 12' in width) — Permittee must notify police department at (434) 392twenty-four hours prior to entering corporate limits.
Hampton — State permit not valid through city other than Interstate Routes 664 and 64. Contact the City Engineer at (540) 726-2945 or 2946 for permit to travel routes not listed above.
Harrisonburg (vehicle/loads in excess of 12' in width) — Permittee must notify police department at (703) 434-2545 twenty-four hours prior to entering corporate limits.
Henrico County — State permit valid for travel on Parham Road, Laburnum Avenue, and routes numbered less than 600. Contact county traffic engineer at (804) 501-4397 for permit to travel routes not listed. State permit will designate Henrico County roads by name, not number. No travel is permitted on Parham Road and Laburnum Avenue between 7:00–9:00 am and 3:30–6:30 pm.
Herndon — Permittee must notify police department at (703) 435-6846 twenty-four hours prior to entering corporate limits.
Hopewell — Permittee must notify police department at (804) 541-2222 twenty-four hours prior to entering corporate limits.
Lynchburg – Permittee to notify City Traffic Engineer twenty-four (24) hours prior to entering corporate limits. Telephone (434) 257-8000 Manassas — Permittee to notify city hall at (703) 257-8000 twenty-fours prior to entering corporate limits.
VA-7 03/14 SC&RA Oversize/Overweight Permit Manual Martinsville — Contact the city at (276) 656-5300 for travel on routes not listed below. Travel is restricted to between one-half hour after sunrise to one-half hour before sunset within city limits, and is restricted on
the following routes:
a) East-West Travel — Use Route 58 between east city limits and Fairy Street, proceed on Fairy Street to Commonwealth Boulevard (Route 57), and along Commonwealth Boulevard to west city limits. Then travel Routes 1112 and 667 to Route 220 Business. Travel then allowed north or south on Route 220 Business.
b) North-South Travel — Use designated Route 220 Bypass (does not enter city limits).
Newport News (vehicle/loads in excess of 12' in width) — State permit not valid for travel within the city except for I-64. Permittee must contact police department at (757) 926-8139.
Norfolk — State permit not valid for travel within the city except for I-64, I-264, and I-564. Contact city traffic engineer at (757) 664-7300 for permit to travel routes not listed.